hostseek.blogg.se

Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup
Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup







crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup
  1. Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup full#
  2. Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup free#
  3. Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup mac#

That's what I hate about boxed mac & cheese - the cheese sauce seems 'slimy' to me. It is SO good! Yes, the cheddar cheese ends up making a sort of 'grainy' cheese sauce.

Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup full#

Despite being totally full from dinner, I keep stealing forkfulls of this as it cools on the counter. I believe it may be a small miracle if there is any left by morning. I didn't make this for dinner, just as a test. (3 cups of macaroni, 6 C of cheese, 6 C of milk - you get the point) I used a 4qt crock pot, and I think about one & a half recipe would fit. I cooked it on high for about 2 hours, stirring frequently. I used about 2 tablespoons of Grey Poupon mustard vice the dry mustard. I never eat mac & cheese myself, because the kids only like the boxed stuff, and the cheaper the better. I had never made mac & cheese in a crock pot, so had to find a recipe to test first. I made this tonight because on Voting Day I have to make chili, mac & cheese and brownies to take to the kids' school as a fund raiser - you know, grab a bowl of food while you vote sort of thing. So, if you tried this and it didn't work the first time. I let it do it's thing for an hour and then stirred every 20 minutes or so after that and it was wonderful.

crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup

With this recipe, you MUST watch it closely and stir it. I don't think the troubles come with the ingredients, but rather time. I used whole grain macaroni, cheddar cheese, and 2% milk. I made this last night and it was wonderful. When I saw that you had made it and had been successful, my courage was restored and I tried again. I was sooo disappointed and literally came to tears.

crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup

I totally destroyed it! I cooked it for way to long and never stirred it. I made this recipe when I first found your blog- ironic, isn't it- to make your friend's recipe first, anyhow. I must say something about this mac and cheese, though. I haven't left a comment yet, even though I've been reading your blog all summer and absolutely love it! The pasta swelled and completely filled a round 4qt. This was more than enough food for 6 people to eat. I was a little surprised that the ingredients called for only a half-pound of pasta. The kids each ate 2 bowls, and my three-year-old has requested that I make this every single day for lunch from now on. The cheese on top was bubbly and brown and had the neat texture it gets when baked in the oven. This tastes like macaroni and cheese should taste. I was quite surprised at how quickly our pasta got fork-tender. The cooking time will vary depending on what size crockpot you are using, and how quickly it heats and cooks. ALL CROCKPOTS ARE DIFFERENT! Check no matter what! In a mixing bowl, whip egg and milk together.Īdd cheese and noodles, and stir well to combine.Ĭover and cook on low for 2-5 hours, or on high for 1-3.ĬHECK AFTER 1 HOUR. If you only have a 6-quart, that is okay, but for reals pay attention - your noodles will soften even faster. Use a 4-quart slow cooker for best results. But the bagged stuff sometimes has an anti-caking agent which will keep it from melting as nicely as when you use block cheese.ĭon't shoot the messenger I'm only trying to help!! :-) * I am usually a bagged shredded cheese girl, but for this recipe I recommend shredding your own.

Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup free#

I tell you this so you can *learn from my mistake!* :-)ġ/2 pound uncooked macaroni or hearty pasta (I used a gluten free pasta)Ĥ cups shredded cheese (I used all cheddar * ) Our pasta was perfectly cooked and al dente after about 90 minutes on high, but I left it on and accidentally fell asleep on the couch when I should have been folding laundry.Īn hour later, the pasta was still amazingly delicious, but it got mushy. There is a lot of liquid and the noodles cook VERY quickly. I wouldn't recommend putting this in the crockpot unsupervised. I waited too long to make it-this is a superb recipe. Ninety-seven days ago, when I made the crockpot ziti, my buddy Alison wrote in the comments her recipe for macaroni and cheese. This is the best macaroni and cheese, ever. Originally posted during my Year of Slow Cooking.]









Crock pot macaroni and cheese recipe soup